Remember…There Is Hope

“But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in Him.’”

(Lamentations 3:21-24, ESV)

Sometimes life can seem unbearable. My wife & I knew a college student who praised God during her final earthly breaths, just before cancer took her much too soon. I have spoken with a young woman who was raped by her dad, the one who was supposed to be her spiritual leader, provider, and protector. And just recently, I walked through a friend’s home, which caught fire and burned; now, their stuff is gone.

So what is left? What is left when life is tragic? What remains when all else seems to vanish in a moment?

“But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in Him.’”

When suffering rises to the surface of our lives, we must remember. We cannot forget. There is hope. We must let go of our failing and false securities that God might show us Himself. He is the gift; He is our portion. There is no one and no thing we need more than God Himself. He fuels us with hope.

Whether you are walking through the agony of life, or you are frustrated with the minor inconveniences of circumstances not going your way—remember…there is hope in Christ.

”He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ” (Philippians 1:6).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

