“Suffer Well” (Psalm 6: Praying Through Psalms)

“My soul is in deep anguish.  How long, Lord, how long?  Turn, Lord, and deliver me; save me because of your unfailing love.  The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.”  -Psalm 6:3-4, 9

O God, even though suffering may overwhelm me, Your sovereign hand is both strong and gentle.  Lord, You are good.  You punish those who practice wicked deeds.  You receive those whom You call Your own.

Father, rather than trusting Your promises and experiencing Your peace, I kick and scream through the storms of life.  I am drawn into the worry-filled whirlwind of chaos and so quickly forget You are God.

My heart humbly breaks with gratitude, for You pursue and sustain me.  You provide everything I need, and abundantly more.  You offer me a well of goodness to quench my thirst.

Teach me to trust You through the trials of this world.  Remind me of Your sustaining love and Your peace that surpasses fear.  Present me, each day, with the hope of future grace, so that I may suffer well.

This entry was posted in Bible, Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

