Psalm 4: “Favor in Darkness” (Praying Through Psalms)

“How long will you people turn my glory into shame?  How long will you love delusions and seek false gods?  Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.  Many, Lord, are asking, ‘Who will bring us prosperity?’  Let the light of your face shine on us.  Fill my heart with joy…”  -Psalm 4:2-3, 6-7

God, You created all things for Your glory and praise.  You are the Lighthouse and Rock  in the midst of the storm.  You are immoveable, unshakeable; You are safe.

Father, have mercy on me and forgive me for shaming You by seeking wisdom and comfort from those besides You, whether they be family, friends, technology, food, busy activities, or the pride of having more.  Always, but especially in times of distress, I should turn to You for understanding and safety, because You are my only source of peace and joy.

Thank You for the favor You shine upon me in the dark storms of life.  Your favor guides my steps and brings joy to my heart.

Comforter, when I cannot turn myself from the idols of this world, turn my heart, Lord, to You.  Whether I acknowledge my need for You or simply walk through my days chasing shiny things, there is nothing my heart longs for more than Your presence.  I want to be blinded by the light of Your face today.

This entry was posted in Bible, Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

