Praying Through Psalms: “Sanctuary” (Psalm 3)

“But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high.  I call out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain.  I lie down and sleep, I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.  I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.”  -Psalm 3:3-6

Lord, You are my shield, my protector, my sustainer.  You are my fortress that cannot crumble, my tower that will never fall.  You are my river of life that will never run dry.

My heart often quakes, worries, and fears.  Sadly, I do not tremble in Your presence; rather, I dread the things of this world–people, governments, and circumstances out of my control.  Forgive me that I do not trust in Your unfailing and everlasting promise to defend and deliver me.

My gratitude for Your fortifying love overflows.  Thank You for hearing my cry for help.  I lay my head on my pillow and restfully sleep, not because I am without trial, but instead because I now know Your peace.  You sustain me in the midst of adversity, and for that I treasure You.

Father, be my sanctuary.  Turn my heart from the worries of this world to rest in Your presence.

This entry was posted in Bible, Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

