Hope of Glory

We all want to be somebody.

Since I was a little kid, I was on a search for significance.  I wanted to be somebody important.  As an eight-year-old, I remember my babysitter asking me who I wanted to be when I grew up.  I said, “A teacher, NBA superstar, or NFL football player.”  I didn’t know for sure, but I did want to be significant.
As I grew older, I continued on my quest for significance.  It became less about what I would do and more about who I was.  I wanted to fit in.  I wanted to be liked.  I wanted approval from others.

But as years went by, God continually showed me my insignificance.  He taught me that I’m not that important, I’m nothing, I’m DEAD–apart from Christ.  Without Christ in me, I have no spiritual pulse.  I am alone, without hope, and incapable of doing good in its purest sense.  I am completely insignificant by myself.

But God made me alive with Christ even when I was dead in transgressions. (Ephesians 2:4-5)  And now Christ lives in me.  He makes me alive.  He provides me an unfailing identity.  He gives me significance.  And this significance is greater than any I could ever receive from a job, role, or something said to me.

My significance is found in the hope of glory.

Once we become Christ-followers, once Christ takes up residence in us (yes, that’s God the Holy Spirit), we can experience the hope of glory.  When I say “hope of glory,” there are a couple things going on here:

1.  Because God lives in His people, we can fully hope in His promise that we will inherit and experience glory with Him, forever.  For all of eternity, we will be in glory with God.

2.  AND…because Jesus is in us, we have the opportunity to participate in reflecting glory back to the Father by what we think, do, say, and how we live our lives.  The Holy Spirit continually sanctifies our lives to be more like Christ.  We begin to desire God more and more.  And pretty soon, the glorification of God becomes our greatest desire, nothing else matters much.  Our perspective and worldview changes.  We’re not nearly as concerned about comfort, health, and safety as we once were.  No, now we’re alive!  We’re alive and hoping to participate in and see God being glorified.

This is true significance.

There is nothing more significant than experiencing the hope of glory!

About Mike Barnhart

I am a Christ-follower, Husband, Father, & Campus Minister.
This entry was posted in Gospel, Identity, Roles, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

